

IAP/AGM/24-PR/NC(a)



October 15, 2024

PRESS RELEASE

ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING 2024 OF INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS, PAKISTAN

The Annual General Body Meeting of the Institute of Architects, Pakistan (IAP), was held on Tuesday, October 15, 2024, at the Registered Office in Karachi, all regional chapter offices, and via Zoom. The quorum for the meeting was achieved through representations of member architects from all chapters of IAP across Pakistan.

Chaired by President IAP Ar. Zulfiqar Ali, the AGM on October 15, 2024, commenced with the recitation from the Holy Quran, followed by the National Anthem. The first item on the agenda was to confirm the minutes of the Annual General Body Meeting held on October 21, 2023, which was followed by the Honorary Secretary's report on IAP activities during the year by Ar. Muhammad Tahir Khattak. Chairman BAE-IAP, Ar. Umar Saeed, then presented a brief overview of the BAE-IAP activities over the past year.

The Honorary Treasurer IAP, Ar. Umar Khan Kakar, presented audited accounts for the year 2023-2024, followed by the appointment of auditors for the year 2024-2025. The next item on the agenda was the holding of Annual Elections for the National Council for the year 2024-25.

Three (03) positions were vacated this year upon completion of the three years' tenure by Ar. Zulfiqar Ali, Ar. Umar Saeed, and Ar. Asad Ali.

In order to elect new members for the three vacant seats, the office of Honorary Secretary received five (06) nominations.

After scrutinizing all received nominations, the following six candidates qualified to contest the election:

Ar. Ali Zafar Qazi Ar. Bisma Sami Askari Ar. Fawad Suhail Abbasi Ar. Kifayat Hussain Ar. Sikander Ajam Khan Ar. Toobia Yousaf

The online election started on October 13, 2024, at 09:00 AM and continued until October 15, 2024, at 03:00 PM, spanning a total voting period of 54 hours.

The following candidates were elected to fill the three vacant positions on the IAP National Council:

- 1. Ar. Fawad Suhail Abbasi
- 2. Ar. Bisma Sami Askari
- 3. Ar. Toobia Yousaf

www.iap.com.pk // info@iap.com.pk // +92518480064





Immediately after the AGM and election results, the 1st National Council meeting for the year 2024-2025 was held via Zoom, during which the following office bearers were elected:

- Ar. Fawad Suhail Abbasi, President
- Ar. Dr. Samra Mohsin Khan, Vice President
- Ar. Maira Khan, Vice President
- Ar. Bisma Sami Askari, Chairperson, Board of Architectural Education
- Ar. Muhammad Tahir Khattak, Honorary Secretary
- Ar. Umar Khan Kakar, Honorary Treasurer

The National Council for the year 2024-2025 now consist of:

- Ar. Fawad Suhail Abbasi, President
- Ar. Dr. Samra Mohsin Khan, Vice President
- Ar. Maira Khan, Vice President
- Ar. Bisma Sami Askari, Chairperson, Board of Architectural Education
- Ar. Muhammad Tahir Khattak, Honorary Secretary
- Ar. Umar Khan Kakar, Honorary Treasurer
- Ar. Faryal Sikander, Member
- Ar. Hafsa Imtiaz, Member
- Ar. Toobia Yousaf, Member
- Ar. Abdullah Khan, Chairman, Rawalpindi / Islamabad Chapter
- Ar. Faisal Riaz, Chairman, Lahore Chapter
- Ar. Mishaal Merchant, Chairperson, Karachi Chapter
- Ar. Muhammad Kamran Khan, Chairman, Peshawar Chapter
- Ar. Arslan Sarwar Tarar, Chairman, Chenab Chapter
- Ar. Naseer Hijazi, Chairman, Quetta Chapter
- Ar. Zulfigar Ali, Immediate Past President

www.iap.com.pk // info@iap.com.pk // +92518480064