BAE-IAP Academic Awards-2019

On the evening of 6th December, the auditorium of IAC had a mixed gathering of award winners from all over Pakistan, proud parents, faculty and architects for the Academics Award Ceremony organized by the Board of Architectural Education of the Institute of Architects Pakistan (BAE-IAP) and hosted by IAP-Lahore Chapter


The ceremony started with the National Anthem and Tilawat of Holy Quran, after which Ar. Arif Changezi, president IAP welcomed the guests. Ar. Khadija Jamal Shaban, chairperson BAE-IAP highlighted the role of BAE-IAP and the significance of the Academic Assembly where two days were dedicated to all Architecture Education related activities involving HoDs, faculty, recent graduates and some students. She emphasized that BAE, over the years is making its mark in being a platform for Architectural Education Institutions represented through the HoDs.


Mr. Fakir Syed Aijazuddin, former principal Aitchison College in his keynote address held the attention of all, though his focus were the young graduates ready to embark on a new journey away from the shelter of institutions. His impeccable motivational delivery was full of wit and subtle advice for the young and even life lessons for all. He then proceeded to give awards to the winners of the IAP Excellence Faculty Award Dr. Shama Ambrine (Senior category) and Ar. Qurat ul Ain Asghar (junior category) both from UET, Lahore; winner and honourable mentions for Graduate Awards, IAP Kausar Bashir Ahmad Award, and the 3rd BAE-IAP Photography competition.


21 recipients received the Mehdi Ali Mirza Award from Ar. Arif Changezi, President IAP, Ar. Akeel Bilgrami, founding chairman BAE-IAP, Ar. Kaleem Siddiqui, chairman PCATP, Ar. Jehangir Khan Serpao, former President ARCASIA and Ar. Pervaiz Vandal, Pro-VC, IAC along with other senior architects.


Ar. Saad Mahmood Khan, convener of the Academic Assembly, organizing committee, presented the vote of thanks. The conveners Ar. Farida Ghaffar (IAP Graduate, IAP-KBA and MAM awards), Ar. Bisma Askari (3rd Photography competition) and Ar. Taniya Soomro (IAP Faculty Excellence award) made the event possible in managing the due process and conducting juries, culminating in selecting the winners and honourable mentions.

The very talented IAC choir entertained the guests among much appreciation from all. The programme was followed by dinner in the courtyard.

Scroll to Top