IAP IIL Affordable Housing Design Ideas Competition

Institute of Architects Pakistan (IAP) n collaboration with International Industries Limited (IIL), organized an Award Ceremony to recognize the efforts of IIL-IAP Affordable House Design Competition Winners.

In line with PM’s Naya Housing Initiative for providing affordable housing to the millions of people in low income segment of Pakistan, IIL and IAP – Karachi conducted an Affordable Housing Design Competition in which countrywide professional & student Architects participated and submitted their designs.

These designs were judged by a panel of expert jury members including Dr. Suneela Ahmed (Assistant Professor – NED UET & Convener of Affordable housing design competition), Dr. Shoaib Ahmad (JPC Chair Professor- NED – UET), Ar. Rashid Rasheed (CEOSR Design Works), Ar. Kalim Ahmed Siddiqui (Principal Architect – KS & Associates), Ar. Saifullah Sami (Principal Architect – Saifullah Sami Architect) and Ar. Arif Changezi (President IAP).

The event was not only attended by various renowned Architects but also included key dignitaries from

Housing, Builders & Construction Industry. The chief guest of the event was Mr. Zaigham Rizvi (Chair of PM’s Task Committee on Affordable Housing), and the event was also graced by the presence of Mr. Shehzad Roy (UNODC Goodwill Ambassador) – The first person and also an artist in Pakistan to get his home constructed using the modern quick construction technology using Hollow Structural Steel.

The competition’s primarily focus was to engage Pakistan’s Architectural Community in developing architectural designs for Affordable housing using locally available quick construction / pre-fabrication techniques and technological innovations to assist in the execution of the Government of Pakistan’s dream of affordable housing.

President IAP Ar. Arif Changezi (President – IAP), Ar. Ramiz Baig (Chairman IAP – Karachi Chapter), and Dr. Suneela Ahmed (Assistant Professor – NED UET & Convener of Affordable housing design competition) acknowledged the efforts of all jury members, IAP committee and IIL towards Affordable Housing Initiatives.

Awards & prizes were distributed to the winners by the distinguished guests after the brief presentation of their winning architectural blueprints. Winners included: Ar. Ahmed Mian, Ar. Adil Kerai, Ar. Shahid Abdulla, Ar. Murtaza Mehdi Rizvi, Ar. Ukkasha Numan, Ar. Arif Khan & Ar. Sikander Ajam.


Scroll to Top